Situated on the outskirts of the charming villages of Par and Tywardreath is The Royal Inn. Built in the19th century it was used by travellers and employees of the Great Western Railway.

The name is said to originate from when King Edward VII (1841-1910) was Prince of Wales and Duke of Cornwall and he went underground at Fowey Consols copper mine. Upon his safe return to the surface he gave each shaft man a new florin (10p) and also granted Mr W Morcom, the Proprietor of the hotel at Par Station (Par's original name), permission to call his hotel 'The Royal', and so stands the name today.

The earliest documentation of the hotel dates back to 29 September 1859 when the land was leased to a consortium of five gentlemen. We believe this was the time the hotel's construction began as six years later the hotel was sold by Philip Rich (one of the consortium) to William Morcom for a sum of £600.

The hotel was owned by the Morcom family from 1865 until 1925. During this time it was leased to The Redruth Brewery Co Ltd, who then purchased the property and land from the Morcoms for the sum of £2900.

From the 1950's – 1990's the hotel's large function room was used as a dance hall and band room amongst other things. Some of our customers fondly remember attending wedding receptions and dances here many years ago.

The Redruth Brewery owned the hotel until 1985 when it was sold to Messrs Rogers and Bevan. The key business focus for the new proprietors was a public house and restaurant and the name was changed to 'The Wych Way Inn'.

This was how the pub was known until April 2000 when Ladybird Inns Limited purchased the premises and the name changed back to 'The Royal'.

Since then The Royal has undergone a complete refurbishment with the addition of a conservatory and seventeen-bedroom extension to the existing public bar and dining room.